PDA

View Full Version : Some assistance with .net web app spring integration

Amateur
01-03-2011, 06:18 PM
I am new to Spring.Net and currently implementing it into my .net web application. I have some questions that I hope someone can help me out with.

Firstly I have several .aspx pages that all inherit from a BasePage. Within the BasePage I have some properties that I want to inject values in to via spring. Now I am able to wire up the configuration as follows to achieve this:

<object id="identityManager"
type="XXX.IdentityCookieManager, XXXX.Cookies"
singleton="false">
<constructor-arg name="identity" ref="identity" />
</object>

<object name="basePage">
<property name="IdentityManager" ref="identityManager" />
</object>

<object type="Default.aspx" parent="basePage" />

My question is, do I have to specify every page in my application or is there a quicker way of doing such?

My next question is a little more complex. For each .aspx page, it has a controller object that carries out the operations for the page with the result passed to the page to display on screen. All page controllers inherit from a BaseController which again has some properties that I want to populate with spring.

Config for populating base controller is:

<object id="baseController">
<property name="ResourceManager" ref="controllerResources" />
<property name="Logger" ref="logger" />
<property name="Configuration" ref="configuration" />
</object>

The controller for the page is set in the code behind of the page like this:

var views = new List<IView>() { this, this.MasterPage, this.ucControl };
this.Controller = new HomeController(views);

When the HomeController object is instansiated, the base controller properties are not set. Is there a way I can wire it up via spring that once an object that inherits from BaseController is instansiated, wire up the base controller properties?

I did look at assigning the Controller via spring config but it was a bit messy.